Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons signature and ratification updates

Global Ban Countries

24 countries have signed and ratified the United Nations’ Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons:

Signed and ratified: Austria, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Gambia, Guyana, Holy See, Kazakhstan, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, South Africa, Thailand, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam.

In total 70 countries have signed the treaty, 47 have signed but not yet ratified. The treaty can only enter into force when 50 states ratify the treaty – until that time, pressure must be put on all countries to sign and ratify.

Signed, not ratified: Algeria, Angola, Antigua & Barbuda, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Fiji, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea- Bissau, Honduras, Indonesia, Ireland, Jamaica, Kiribati, Laos, Libya, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome & Principe, Seychelles, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu

Global Ban Communities: West Dunbartonshire Council joins

West Dunbartonshire has become the fourth council in the UK to pass a motion supporting the global ban!

Note: Hebden Royd Town council also passed a motion